New Governing Council For UEW Commissioned


The Minister of Education Mathew Opoku Prempeh has inaugurated a new governing Council for the University of Education Winneba.

The inauguration was done at the office of the minister in Accra Thursday.

The development brings to an end a dragging impasse at the university over the nonexistence of a governing council.

In July this year, the University suspended its planned and publicised  congregation for 2018/19 graduands indefinitely.

In a statement, the University said: “Due to prevailing circumstances beyond our control, the much advertised and scheduled July Congregation for the graduands of the 2018/2019 academic year on the Winneba, Kumasi and Ashanti Mampong campuses has been postponed indefinitely. New dates for the Congregation shall be announced as soon as the Governing Council is reconstituted for the University”.

Meanwhile doing the inauguration, the Sector Minister Mathew Opoku Prempeh indicated that the Council was constituted to serve on account of their proven integrity and sense of duty.

He hopes that members of the Council will bring those worthy attributes in the duty and responsibilities entrusted in their hands.

According to the Minister the Council is responsible for the governance of the University by enhancing the vision an  facilitating the mission of the University, make arrangements as is considered appropriate for internal organisation of the University, including the establishment of academic divisions and establishments of academic bodies among others.

The Council is also to promote income generating ventures and activities to uplift the fortunes of the University and establish committees as it deem appropriate.

The Minister noted that government will continue to support tertiary-industry collaborative programs, promote curriculum development and making training of entrepreneurship a cardinal point in our education system.

The Minister also charged the Council to as a matter of urgency organise a Congregation for the University.


Professor Obeng Mireku,

Rev. Fr. Afful Broni

Madam Irene Osei Bonsu Esq.

Mrs Abena Antwi Esq.

Neenyi Ghartey VII

Very Rev. Mrs AMA Afo Blay

Prof. Kwesi Opoku-Amankwa

Eric Agbe Carbonu

Mr. Bruno Bajuaose Chirani

Dr Isaac Abunyawah

Prof. Yaw Sakyi Baidoo

Dr Samuel Adu Gyamfi

Ms. Theresa Ackorlie

Heartwill Selasi Tamakloe

Emmanuel Oduro Fosu

Mohammed Salifu




Please enter your comment!
Please enter your name here